What I read in January 2018

I reached the end of just one book in January. For Christmas I received the story behind the film I wrote about in an earlier post. Jane Hawking’s book about her marriage to the physicist, Stephen Hawking (who developed motor neurone disease at an early age) runs to almost 500 pages in paperback. Travelling to Infinity includes childhood reminiscences, details of family life, where apparently insurmountable problems are dealt with, the connection between medieval Spanish poetry and early scientific discovery, trips abroad, relationships with friends, family and extended family as well as Stephen’s achievements.

Travelling to Infinity

Travelling to Infinity

I found the book very interesting. The author appears to be very unassuming, honest, resourceful and likeable. (A friend of mine lived near her years ago and liked her very much.)

It was interesting to see how the film-makers had taken true life events and presented them in a more condensed and sometimes spiced up way.

I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone, who can find the time to read it.



What I read in December 2017

Unusually I didn’t reach the end of any books in December apart from my regular reading, which doesn’t usually feature here. I have been using daily readings from the Bible Reading Fellowship for many years, with occasional breaks, when I have tried readings from other publishers, such as CWR or Scripture Union. New Daylight has been my usual reading matter since it took over from its predecessor – Daylight, I seem to remember – years ago. For the last couple of years I have also been reading The Upper Room, a publication written by some of its readers, rather than by theologians. I know one or two of the contributors. Both these booklets are published three times a year in January, April and September. Thus reaching the end of the year coincides with reaching the end of an issue.

I have not yet finished reading the French translation of The Prisoner of Azkaban.

The books I received for Christmas are in the photo, which shows what I may be writing about soon. (The Wild Places by Robert Macfarlane, another in the French series of Harry Potter, a biography of C. S. Lewis and Jane Hawking’s book about her marriage to Richard Hawking, the physicist.)

My Christmas books

My Christmas books

Some of the reasons reading books has not featured much in December are that I have been busy knitting, taking part as a choir member in concerts and church services and doing my Christmas correspondence.

I have also been reading blogs, but again that is something I usually do alongside any books I may have started.

For Booklovers, if you haven’t already encountered the blog of dovegreyreader, I recommend it. Also for writers, More than Writers to which I contribute posts is usually interesting.



What I read in November 2017

This title is a little misleading as I read one of the books at the end of October!


The Death Beat by Fiona Veitch Smith is the third Poppy Denby Investigates novel. This one is at least as good if not better than the earlier two books in the series. The historical and geographical settings seem authentic and well-researched. There is suspense and unexpected twists in the plot. The whole story with its sub-plots hangs together well. Poppy has grown in experience and confidence through the series. It is a page-turner.

A Vision of Locusts by S.L. Russell is a book aimed at the young adult market – a genre I enjoy but am sadly too old for! I read it from cover to cover in a day. It is a page-turner with authentic historical and geographical settings. This book affected my emotions. I really enjoyed it.

I have also been reading the books mentioned in a previous post and the French version of The Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling. To save having to use the dictionary too much, I have an English copy to hand. I am fascinated by the way some of the names of people and places have been altered (or not).