A baby’s dress

I decided earlier this year that I needed to do some knitting without the pressure to finish it by a particular date. I bought some lemon baby DK acrylic yarn. Then I looked through my patterns. I realised I needed another 100 gram ball. The dye lot I had originally purchased had all gone, but I think it would be difficult to spot where I changed from one batch to the next.

The pattern, which had grabbed my attention, was the one I wrote about in a previous post – Peter Gregory designs for knitting 685.

I finished the coat I mentioned there and sent it to its intended recipient without blogging about it. Here is a photo of it.

Baby's coat in white

Baby’s coat in white

This time I decided to knit the whole set – coat, dress, bonnet and bootees. No-one was lined up to receive it. I thought I would do it for charity. That is still my intention. It is complete apart from the ribbon for the bootees, which I have not yet managed to purchase from a real (as opposed to on-line) shop. I have an idea how to use it as a charity project without adding any more to its carbon footprint. An acquaintance is expecting a granddaughter. If she would like to purchase it with the money going to a church hall restoration project, that would be ideal. I shall keep it until the baby has arrived and then see what she thinks.

I am posting a picture of the dress, which fastens at the back with press-studs (snap fasteners). The yarn I substituted this time is Baby Care DK by Woolcraft.

Baby's dress in lemon

Baby’s dress in lemon

One thought on “A baby’s dress

  1. Well done, Sue. You are a prodigious knitter! The little cardigan is very sweet but, sadly, my grandchildren are too big for it now.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.