Saul

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

Regular readers of this blog have already met Saul of Tarsus, who became St Paul.

Another Saul was an important character in the Old Testament. I mentioned him in my post about Kings.

The prophet Samuel anointed Saul as king. He began his reign well, but had to deal with war-like nations, threats from a giant and fits of rage or insanity.

His son Jonathan had no ambitions to become King and supported his friend, the shepherd boy, David, who had killed the giant with a stone slung from a low-tech device, which would hardly count as a catapult in modern-day terminology.

Goliath was the name of the giant.

Samuel anointed David as king in obedience to God’s command, although Saul was still alive. David spent some time playing his harp to Saul to calm him. When Saul’s jealousy became too great, David lived in hiding and supporters gathered around him. Although he could easily have killed Saul, he would not harm the Lord’s anointed king. The adventures of these first two kings are told in the first books of Kings and Chronicles.

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth. (If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)

My S post from 2013 does not mention either person named Saul.

3 thoughts on “Saul

Comments are closed.