Peter’s story

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

My brother Andrew introduced me to the teacher, “We have found the Messiah!” (John 1:35-40)

We were simple fishermen. Why should we be chosen to join him?

Our lives were completely changed. We never knew what might happen next.

When he healed my mother-in-law of a fever, I could hardly believe my eyes. She was out of bed and waiting on all of us as if she had never had a day’s illness in her life.

He gave me a new name. I was Simon, but he called me Peter, the Rock. He gave us a new job description as well. Instead of catching fish, he made us fishers of men. There were extreme highs and an especially extreme low. We stood on the mountaintop with Jesus, Moses and Elijah.

I hate to think about my part in the lowest time. My promise, which I really meant, failed completely. Fear is a strong enemy. I didn’t think I would ever forgive myself for denying that I knew my dearest friend.

But he forgave me and restored me. I had to put the past behind me and move forward into the new life his resurrection brought. Resurrection? Yes! And Ascension. I saw him leave with my own eyes.

Then the Day of Pentecost came. Being with Jesus had given us a new sense of purpose and being valued, but the Holy Spirit gave us power – power to speak and to bring his healing love to others. (And to make some enemies as well, but we had been warned.)

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

 I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth. (If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)

My P post from 2013 does not mention Peter

 

3 thoughts on “Peter’s story

Comments welcome

