Obadiah

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

Obadiah wrote a short book of the Old Testament. He spoke out against the descendants of Esau (Edom) and in favour of the descendants of his brother Jacob (Israel). His pronouncements came true.

The story of Jacob and Esau may be found in Genesis Chapters 25, 27-28, 32-33, 35-36. (Some of the missing chapters tell the story of Jacob and Laban.)

Jacob and Esau’s is a story of sibling rivalry, which became enmity lasting for generations.

I was reminded of the story of the woman by the well, to whom Jesus promised living water. She was a Samaritan, a member of a race that Jews did not associate with. She was an outcast in her own community, having to fetch water on her own at midday to avoid the taunts of the other women. At that time and in that culture men did not usually engage strange women in conversation. John Chapter 4

The Old Testament story perpetuated hatred between races. The New Testament one shows the possibility of reconciliation and of peace.

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

 I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth. (If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)

My O post from 2013, but Obadiah doesn’t appear there.

2 thoughts on “Obadiah

Comments are closed.