Laban’s story

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

I was considered to be a hard-nosed businessman. After all if you don’t look after your own interests, who is going to do it for you?

My daughters were a worry to me. The elder was not particularly attractive, having a problem with her sight. It was not going to be easy to find a husband for her. In our culture the elder daughter should marry first.

When Rachel brought an eligible man home she was not following our society’s rules, but this was going to be our best opportunity.

Jacob was not at all pleased to find himself married to Leah and bound to work for me for a total of fourteen years in return for two brides and two concubines.

Could there have been a better way to work through this muddle?

As it was I had six grandsons and a granddaughter through Leah and eventually two grandsons through Rachel. But I lost contact with all of them. My son-in-law fled with all my speckled sheep and goats and my household gods went missing too.

We set up a cairn beyond which neither of us would pass to harm the other.

Jacob seemed sure of God’s blessing. What did he have that I did not?

Genesis: 29-31

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth. (If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)
My L post for 2013 does not mention Laban.

3 thoughts on “Laban’s story

Comments welcome

