Joshua’s story

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

God said, Be strong and of very courageous. I am with you. I will never leave you or forsake you. (Joshua 1:6)

Moses was a wonderful leader for our people. When he died and I found myself taking over his responsibilities, I wondered how I could possibly manage. Over and over again, God told me not to be afraid.

My training under Moses had included going with other scouts to spy out the land of Canaan – the Promised Land, which Moses had been leading God’s people towards for 40 years. Caleb and I were the only ones, who came back and gave a positive report about the land.  The other ten could only see the difficulties.  They were afraid. No wonder God kept telling me not to be afraid.

There was another time when spies were sent out. This time it was to a walled city – Jericho. The spies found help unexpectedly from within the city. A woman called Rahab hid them and helped them to escape. In return they offered her safety, when the city was taken.

God promised us the city, but we had to do everything he said. We did not go against it with battering rams or firing arrows over the ramparts.

God does some surprising things. I wonder what the people of Jericho thought when they saw us marching round the outside of their city walls each day. Perhaps they thought we were afraid. For six days they saw us march round once and then withdraw, as if we had lost our nerve. I wonder what they thought about the priests with the Ark of the Covenant following the armed guard.

On the seventh day we marched around the city seven times. The priests blew loudly on the rams’ horn trumpets all the time. When they blew a long blast, all the people gave a shout and the wall of the city collapsed.

The people of Jericho weren’t expecting that!

We obeyed God’s command to charge straight in and take the city. But we spared Rahab and her family as we had promised.

My adventures are all recorded in the book with my name, which means saviour, just as the name, Jesus, does. Without God’s guidance and protection I could have done nothing. He was the one, who led us into the Promised Land.

(Rahab’s name appears in the lineage of Jesus Christ. Matthew 1:5)

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth. (If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)

My J post from 2013

Comments welcome

