Gamaliel’s story

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

My home was in Jerusalem where I was able to learn from the best religious teachers of my time. I followed the teaching of the Pharisees and gained not a little respect as a teacher of the Law of Moses. I didn’t know what to make of all the rumours about the fellow they called, “Jesus of Nazareth”. I have never been one for making snap decisions.

One day, however I spoke up in a crisis – and people listened and took my advice.

It was like this: There were rumours going round that this Jesus had risen from the dead after he had been put to death by crucifixion. The whole thing seemed to go quiet, but then there were strange things being reported.

One thing led to another and the High Priest was unhappy. He and the Sadducees realised that the followers of Jesus were taking away their followers. There were even reports of them performing miracles of healing.

The High Priest threw the ringleaders into prison. Somehow they escaped overnight. The next day they began teaching right under the nose of the High Priest, in the temple courts, no less.

As a member of the Sanhedrin, I was called to a meeting to decide what should be done. That is when I spoke out. I reminded them of two other leaders, who had gathered a rabble around them. In both cases the leaders were killed and their adherents dispersed.

I told them that if this new movement was of men, it too would fail. If, however, as these people were claiming, it was from God, we could find ourselves fighting against God. They didn’t seem too happy, but after some muttering and mumbling, they agreed that what I said was reasonable.

They still were angry that they seemed to have little power. The former prisoners were flogged and told not to speak in the name of Jesus.

They didn’t take any notice, though.

Surprisingly, my influence on the early Church did not end there. A young man named Saul of Tarsus was once a pupil of mine…

Acts 5:12-42 and Acts 22:3

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth. (If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)

My G post for 2013 does not mention Gamaliel.

