Father – the disciple’s story

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

This wonderful friend of ours really messes up our ideas. We are sure he is very special – the promised Messiah. He really knows stuff. And he spends a lot of time praying. When we asked him to teach us to pray, he didn’t begin, O Lord, our Lord, like the psalmist, but Our Father.

In fact he used the word Abba. The word a little child would use. And another time he told us we should become like little children.

We struggle to understand what he means. When we asked Jesus to show us the Father, he said that anyone, who had seen him, had seen the Father and that we already know the Father.

We know God because we know Jesus.

The words of Jesus’ prayer can be found in Luke 11: 1-4 and another reference to Father is in John 14 (which includes the promise to send the Comforter)

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth. (If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)

My F post for 2013

2 thoughts on “Father – the disciple’s story

Comments are closed.