Bartimaeus’ story

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

Begging was not my chosen career. Bartering banter was how I brought in bystanders – nothing too bawdy in case there were bairns about. Being on the highway brought all the news my way. Because I blagged my way, passers-by blessed me with bits of information as well as a bite to eat. You have to make the best of your situation, after all.

Then there was talk of a wandering rabbi. He didn’t just talk. He healed people. He even raised them from the dead. Surely he was the Messiah we were waiting for.
And now he was coming along the road with a large crowd of people. It was my lucky day. I began to shout.
“Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me.”

The crowd told me to be quiet. I shouted louder. And Jesus heard me. In front of all those noisy people he had me stand up. Suddenly there was silence.

“What do you want me to do for you?”
“Rabbi, I want to see!” I replied.
“Go! Your faith has healed you.”
I could see. I followed the crowd. I was bedazzled by the beauty all around me.

After that everyone lost interest in me. I had to build a new life, catching up for all the years I had not been able to do things for myself. In a way it was like being a child again. But begging had never been my choice and now I can labour alongside others.

Mark 10: 46-52

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth.(If only to discover what liberties I have taken with them!)

My B post from 2013

 

5 thoughts on “Bartimaeus’ story

Comments welcome

