Adam’s lament

To navigate between posts, please scroll down to the end of the widgets in the sidebar and use the arrows << or >>.

It was all right in its way being the first man. At first that is, before all the trouble that came my way. Paradise, they called it. And so it was.

Going first has its disadvantages. You have to set a standard. That’s OK if you do well, but what if you fail? There’s no going back and getting it right the second time around. You have to live with it – or die…

Eve and I had no idea. We made some wrong choices.

Then we lost our beautiful home. Our sons were our hope for the future. Why Cain had to do his brother in, I’ll never understand. It’s not the sort of thing you expect in a family. As for getting over it, that could take for ever.

I sometimes wish I had never been born. (What’s that? No, I wasn’t, I was created.)

I still wonder about my descendants. What hope is there for the sons of Adam? A faint song reaches my ears, as if coming from a distant time or place.

“A second Adam to the fight and to the rescue came.” *

Now what’s that all about?

* (A line from the second verse of John Henry Newman’s hymn, Praise to the holiest in the height.)

(Inspired by Genesis Chapters 1 to 4)

This year for the A to Z Challenge I have taken my 2013 Challenge as a starting point for most of the posts. I have written a post based around something or usually someone from the Bible. Sometimes it is a fictional story, for example when I have added some back stories (as a writing exercise). Sometimes it is a summary.

I hope my readers will be challenged to consider the original texts in more depth.

My A post from 2013

9 thoughts on “Adam’s lament

  1. It’s amazing when we consider the past as it is connected to what came later. The early stories were models for the stories that came later and what we encounter in our own lives today.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.