A Twiddlemuff

I had some novelty yarn (Rico Design creative micro DK) waiting for a project. The idea of knitting a twiddlemuff for a dementia sufferer appealed to me, so I downloaded a pattern from Knit for Peace

The pattern allows for individual interpretation. Beginners may knit a straight piece of fabric and decorate it. I chose to use a variety of stitch patterns to give some interesting textures for the recipient to feel.

The photos tell the story.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the crocheted motifs I used two strands of fine acrylic yarn intended for machine knitting.

Chain six and join with a slip stitch.

Next round: 12 trebles into the ring. (UK terminology)

Next round: (1 treble, 1 double treble, 1 treble) into 1st treble, slip stitch into next treble. Repeat 5 times. Fasten off.

Have you heard of twiddlemuffs before?

3 thoughts on “A Twiddlemuff

Comments are closed.