My word for 2017

In 2016 I decided that the word I needed to concentrate on was Rest. It is difficult to say how successful I was. It was a busy, stressful year in many ways. I found it helpful to have a word to work towards – if that is the right expression. So I have chosen another word for 2017. There were a few words, which vied for my attention. I wondered about sticking with Rest. New words I considered included generosity, steadfast and obedience.

In the end I settled on Trust. My reasoning was that learning to trust God more would help me to be more generous, steadfast and obedient.  I believe that God is worthy of our trust. In the words of a hymn, “There is no other way to be happy in Jesus than to trust and obey.”

A page from Images of Grace by Jacqui Grace

A page from Images of Grace by Jacqui Grace

It sounds easy, but there are so many distractions and I am not always as attentive as I ought to be to the promptings of the Holy Spirit.

Here are some things I must remember to trust God for:

His forgiveness, even when I am still annoyed with myself for getting things wrong,

His unconditional love,

His peace, even in unsettling and uncertain times,

A joyful, thankful heart (mentioned in another hymn)

Opportunities to serve others,

To be able to live in His strength rather than my own,

Protection for those I care about,

Guidance, and wisdom.

Have you settled on a word for 2017?  If so, what is it?

2 thoughts on “My word for 2017

Comments are closed.