What else I read in November 2016

In a previous post I wrote about three books I read in November.  I also mentioned some library books I had borrowed.  These were War Horse by Michael Morpurgo, which I spotted as I took a detour through the children’s section on my way to the grown ups’ one.  It had been put on display for Remembrance.  Michael Morpurgo writes brilliantly.  I decided that as it was already well into November it was unlikely that I was depriving a young person of this book.  In any case I returned it quickly.  It is told from the view point of a horse (as is Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty), but to my mind War Horse is better.  It is set in Britain and Europe during World War II.  That is as much as I am going to write about the plot.  Perhaps you have read it or seen the film.  (I am not a regular movie-goer.)  I recommend this book.  It moved me to tears.

The next book I read in the section for local interest books.  It was a self-published book produced around 20 years ago.  At first I struggled with the font and the lack of editing in the early chapters.  However the author had put a story together with a lot of interesting background information about places I have visited.  Most of the history was told as dialogue by various characters without distinctive voices.  Of the two main characters only the story of one reached a conclusion.  What the other would decide to do was left as a question mark.  The book is illustrated with line drawings.  It is set during the Wars of the Roses.  At least the author has a few books to her name, which is more than I have!  Her other books are humorous farming tales, which do not appeal to me.

The third library book was where my heart used to beat by Sebastian Faulks.  I wondered at the beginning, whether this was a book I really wanted to read.  However I continued and found that it was a fascinating book, dealing with some interesting ideas about treatments for mental illnesses.  I read another book by Sebastian Faulks several years ago – Human Traces, which explores similar issues in another work of fiction.

