Looking back and looking forward

In our society much is made of anniversaries.  The recent anniversary of the Battle of the Somme led to many broadcasts and live events.  In the village where I live there are a number of War Memorials.  Sons of the parish gave their lives fighting for our country. Some Church members interested in local history decided to honour their memory with readings and songs.  One of the choirs in which I sing was involved at short notice.

It happened that I was otherwise occupied (with family) at the times of the practices.  Although I recognise that it is important to remember what has happened in the past and to learn from history, I believe that it is necessary to find a balance between looking back and looking forward.  We can only live in the present, but what we do now is affected by what has gone before and has power to affect the future for ourselves and others.

A friend invited me to a meeting the local Youth Church at exactly the same time as the commemoration of the Battle of the Somme.  She is one of the leaders and I am almost a generation older than she is!  As I do not drive I needed a lift to the neighbouring parish.  I made enquiries from one of the youth leaders at our church about the intentions of people to attend the meeting.  Another friend was going, so I texted her to see if she could take me.  After some time she let me know that she was unable to attend.  Hubby came to the rescue and dropped me off at the other church.  One of the youth leaders from our Church was able to bring me back.

We began with a time of worship and a reading from 1 Samuel, which demonstrated how older people and younger people can help each other discover what God is saying.

The young people had made a video in which they explained, what are the most important things for them.   Most of them included family and friends.  Some mentioned Church, God or the Bible.  Some explained why money and education were important as they looked towards a time, when they would provide for a family of their own. One of the young adults, a worship-leader, explained that without Jesus there would be no point in having a church.

I have been thinking about the expression having other fish to fry.  It is used when someone has different priorities.  I was reminded of the story about Jesus after his resurrection.  (John 21) The disciples were fishing and had not caught anything.  Jesus told them where to cast their nets and they caught 153 fish!  He was making breakfast for them by frying other fish over a charcoal fire.

If words and sayings interest you, why not explore Sue’s considered trifles?

