What I read in May 2016

Since our local library closed, I have been making fleeting visits to one in the town I visit once a week.  All the books I have read in May were borrowed from the library.

Miss Carter’s War by Sheila Hancock would make a great Reading Group book.  It is set in the years following the Second World War, but includes flashbacks to Miss Carter’s wartime experiences.  Although it is a work of fiction, the changes in attitude and culture following WW2 and throughout the lifetime of the heroine are seamlessly woven into the story.  Sheila Hancock does not pull her punches and gives much food for thought.

 

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey  Another member of the writing group I go to had also read this book recently.  We agreed that it deserved the prize it had gained for the author and the best word to describe the book was “unsettling”.

The story is told through the eyes of a forgetful elderly lady.  Her earlier memories are clear, but she is easily confused.

The Careful Use of Compliments by Alexander McCall Smith

 

This is Alexander McCall Smith at his best.  Isabel Dalhousie is a delightful character and the twists and turns in the plot of this book are highly amusing.  I do not usually bore hubby with the details of books I have read, but I told him this entire story as he drove me into the town to return these books!

 

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

 

I found this book, which had been recommended to me by a friend, on a display at the library for Alzheimer’s awareness week.  Although the subject matter is disturbing, this book is a page-turner.  It is a well-researched work of fiction.  Like Elizabeth in  the book mentioned above, Alice experienced tragedy early in life.  (The cover of the book I read had a different image.)

I thoroughly recommend all these books. (This post is now linked to http://emilypfreeman.com/lets-share-learned-may-2016/)

4 thoughts on “What I read in May 2016

  1. I love Alexander McCall Smith. I haven’t read this one but will definitely be reading or listening to it soon. Thanks for the ideas! I’ve heard about Still Alice but I’m afraid I’ll think I have her disease so I’ve stayed away from it. I’ve heard others have really liked it, too. Thanks for this list! I haven’t done a booklist on my blog in awhile. I think it’s been awhile since I’ve read something worth sharing. It seems to have become harder and harder to find a good book. Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Sue, you have given me a great summer reading list! The first three, particularly, intrigue me and sound just the sort of thing I enjoy reading. I shall look forward to perusing more of your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.