My 2015 in review

This post is about my experiences on social media in 2015.  I am linking with emily p. freeman.

One highlight was starting a new blog.  Sue’s Words and Pictures arose from my revived hobby of photography.  After a busy spring, summer and autumn with outings to document it has been plodding along through the winter with weekly photo challenge posts.

I have found that anything I do to help other people on social media (particularly Twitter) is more effective in terms of views than anything I do for myself.

I have had a few guest posts published on other blogs this year.  The only word of warning about guest blogging is that the post is not under the blogger’s control.  Should any changes be required later someone else has to make them.

The Artistic Christian interviewed me for a post on his blog.  There was something in the published version, which I let go, but has been niggling at me.  When I was a child in England, library books were not “beautiful”.  Perhaps transparent book-backing film had not been invented.  Whatever the reason, library books were specially bound using a limited number of patterned materials. They were all hardbacks.  It was easy to identify a library book from its cover.

Apart from a few regular commenters on my blogs, I find that very few people are prepared to engage on-line.  I have not managed to keep up with all the blogs I follow.  This is partly because I have been fairly successful in keeping my resolution to read more books.  There is a limit to the amount of time and energy I have for reading.

Deciding which challenges to become involved with has required some trial and error.  An A to Z Challenge with less demanding frequency of posts looked attractive.  I began to take part.  However the amount of work compared with the number of views caused me to have second thoughts.  The Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge is well-established.  A large number of participants read other people’s blogs and comment on them.  With preparation in advance the demanding schedule can be achieved.

On Facebook I have been involved in a number of bloggers’ and writers’ groups.  I have been challenged to write poems from prompts and have enjoyed reading the work of others.  I have also read and reviewed some books by on-line contacts.

Taking part in a monthly blog link up “What I learned in …” has given me some focus for some regular posts on Sue’s Trifles.  I had this link up pointed out to me in June, I think, although I have failed to find the comments thread.

At this time of year it is important to look forward as well as looking back.  What is in store for 2016?  I am looking forward to Blogging from A to Z in April on at least one blog (possibly two).   I hope to continue writing offline.  One project I’d like to pursue is the publication of some of my poems.  Spreading my efforts a little less thinly might result in more obvious progress.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2015 annual report for this blog as well as Sue’s considered trifles and Sue’s words and pictures.

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 3,500 times in 2015. If it were a cable car, it would take about 58 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

How are you planning to build on what you learned in 2015?

 

 

4 thoughts on “My 2015 in review

Comments are closed.