What I have read in September

Our tiny local library is only open for two half days a week.  At one time I was a regular visitor and a member of the reading group, which meets there.  Even while I was attending the reading group (from which I learned much, both from the other members and from books, which I would otherwise not have discovered), I really hankered after a writing group.

I left the reading group a few years ago.  Subsequently my visits to the library dropped off and then ceased for over a year.  (I was buying books and reading them.)  However, I have made three visits to the library in August and September and borrowed four books altogether.

The Twitter Diaries by Georgie Thompson and Imogen Lloyd Webber attracted me because of the unusual format and the name Lloyd Webber. (Imogen’s father and uncle are famous musicians.)  I read it from cover to cover and found it interesting, but not particularly memorable.

The same day I found Bertie plays the Blues by Alexander McCall Smith.  This book struck me as one of the less interesting of the books by this author.  However on my following visit, the only book which appealed to me at all was Sunshine on Scotland Street, which turned out to be the next in the series.  Although it would stand alone, having read the previous book made some of the stories even more amusing.  This is Alexander McCall Smith at his best.

When I returned it nothing at all in the fiction section appealed to me.  We had been on a guided tour of Wordsworth House in Cockermouth (of which more on Sue’s words and pictures).  In half an hour there was only time for a brief summary of the lives of the Wordsworth family.  The guide recommended a book by Hunter Davies entitled William Wordsworth.  I found it in the local studies section and borrowed it.  Having reached the third chapter I succumbed to a feverish cough and cold, so needed something lighter to read.  (I am looking forward to reading the rest later.)

On hubbies “to read” pile I discovered A short book about drawing by Andrew Marr.  This is a beautifully produced hardback book illustrated by the author.  It is also about the history of drawing and of changing philosophies through the ages.  The author also draws on the experience of professional artists of his acquaintance.  I read it in a single sitting and was inspired to revive my hobby of drawing/painting, which I set aside around the time I began to concentrate on writing.

My first sketch for 4 years

My first sketch for 4 years

I sketched a house plant, which is flowering at present.  The perspective is not perfect, but it conveys the general impression of a cape primrose.  What I learned later was that in October there is a drive to encourage everyone to draw. #BigDraw

Linking up with what I learned in September.

One thought on “What I have read in September

Comments are closed.