Baby’s bonnet and bootees

My latest knitting project is from a modern pattern, the first I have purchased for several years.  It is Peter Gregory designs for knitting 685 with a link to www.ukhandknitting.com on the cover.  There is an interesting blog on this website, which is currently being reconstructed.

I have substituted WonderSoft by Stylecraft baby double knitting as it was the only suitable yarn I could find locally.

Knitting the smallest size of bootees allowed me to practise the lacy pattern.  (I find lace knitting is the most difficult.  This pattern maintains a constant number of stitches on each row.  Some patterns, where the number of stitches increases on one row and decrease on another, are even more difficult.)

Bootees

Bootees

I am now knitting the coat, which requires 235 stitches for the largest size.

Although I have been a lifelong knitter, I still have difficulty counting stitches.  I count the stitches I have just cast on two or three times and arrive at a different total each time!  For this project I am using a circular needle and knitting backwards and forwards.  I realised that I could reduce the number of stitches I need to count all at once by dividing up the work using safety pins.  I used a safety pin after each 100 stitches, but it would be easier to use one every 50 stitches.

I am also checking that each pattern row is correct as I go along.  Usually I press on regardless and then having to unpick (frog) inches of knitting!

Bonnet front view

Bonnet front view

This pattern gives four sizes for a dress and a coat and two sizes for the bonnet and bootees.

Bonnet side view

Bonnet side view

I managed to reach a straightforward section of the coat, where the pattern is similar to the sides of the bonnet, so that I could knit at craft group without making lots of mistakes.

How often do you think, why ever didn’t I think of that before?

