Can a blog post be a list or a list a blog post?

On Saturday I travelled by public transport to the writers’ group I joined last year.  The outward train was crowded due to a large number of events in the towns and villages en route and at the destination.  Apart from exchanging a few remarks with other passengers, I spent the journey looking out of the window and making exhaustive notes of the interesting things I saw.

I made a few notes on a similar journey in March.  Spring was late this year.  My notes this time were eight times as long.  Admittedly I am counting the journey in both directions.  In March I only made notes on the outward journey of things, which caught my attention from another crowded train.  As far as I remember I did puzzles on the way back.  The clocks changed to British Summer Time that night.

So to the lists:-

28 March

Flowers
Primroses

Animals
Sheep and lambs

Birds
Geese in a field
Kestrel on a post
Pheasant in a field

4 July

Flowers
Brambles
Broom
Buttercups
Clover
Elderflower
Flowering grasses
Foxgloves
Gorse
Hogweed
Honeysuckle
Meadowsweet
Nettles in flower
Opium poppies
Ox-eye daisies
Poppies
Red campion
Rhododendrons fading
Rosebay willowherb
Rugeosa roses
Thistles
Vetch
Wild roses
Yellow loosestrife
Yellow verbascum

Animals
3 donkeys in a field
Dog and owner (wrapped up against the wind)
Friesian cows (black and white)
Sheep
Red, white and black cattle (single colours)
Cows and calves
Red and white cows
One bull

Birds
One cormorant flying, one fishing and a colony on rocks exposed by the tide (which was fairly high)
Gulls
Magpies
Martins
Rooks and crows
Swallows
Wood pigeons

The smaller plants, birds and animals escaped my notice.  Even so I saw more than I’d have seen from a car.

If you enjoy reading lists there are lots of possibilities.  Apart from dictionaries, thesauruses, and telephone directories (now known as phone books), I am aware of two books made up entirely of lists.  One is Hunter Davies’ Lists and the other is Schott’s Original Miscellany by Ben Schott.

