What I have learned during April about social media

Well, the Blogging from A to Z Challenge is over and (apart from my Reflections post) I have free rein to post on this blog.

I hope you have noticed that I now have a new blog, where I am out and about with my phone camera and reporting back.  Sue’s words and pictures would appreciate a visit from you.

I have learned more about hashtags.  Previously I was unaware that some hashtags have been registered for a particular use.  I knew that they were hyperlinks and easy to follow on TweetDeck or to search.  There is a website, where they can be claimed.

Some hashtags of particular help to bloggers are #ArchiveDay (Saturday), where archive blogposts are shared.

#SundayBlogShare

#WeekendBlogHop

#MondayBlogs

#ThankfulThursdays

Another blogger has save me the trouble of writing more about these.

http://mentalillnessgodandme.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/lets-hear-it-for-hashtags.html

#FF (Friday follow; Tweeps recommend others to their followers)

There are rules for each of the hashtags to avoid opportunist use and spammers.

#SundayBlogShare is run by @suzie81blog http://suzie81speaks.com/2015/03/21/blog-advice-1-increasing-your-traffic/

Other useful information may be found by clicking on the links below.

http://blog.red-website-design.co.uk/2015/04/16/social-media-hashtags-what-they-are-and-5-reasons-you-should-use-them/

http://blog.hootsuite.com/how-to-use-hashtags/

The Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge uses #AtoZChallenge and #AZchat.

The organisers of the UK Blog Awards also have a twitter chat – #bloghour.

And there are many others for specific groups and events. #GE2015 is currently a favourite as the UK General Election approaches.

Of course some people use invented hashtags for their humorous effect.  For example #thingspeopledontsaytoyouafterthreeweekslambing

If I counted correctly, this saved @herdyshepherd1 at least ten characters compared with correct spacing and punctuation in the same phrase.

The use of upper case (capital) letters is recommended to avoid people dividing the string of letters in an unintended way.  I have been trying to think of an invented string, which could be read in more than one way.  The best I have come up with is #warmandreading #WarmAndReading #WarManDreading

Have you a favourite hashtag?

Having prepared and scheduled this post, I learned from another blogger, that there is a linky for “What I learned in April”

The other linked posts may be more spiritual, but I hope mine will save others some time.

Having free rein could be compared with Psalm 32, which mentioned a bit and bridle.

9 thoughts on “What I have learned during April about social media

  1. Always so much new stuff to learn and then to remember to use. I’ve gotten in the #atozchallenge habit, but most hashtags I don’t take advantage of.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Join us on May 4 with your post of Reflections about this year’s A to Z.
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Congrats on surviving A-Z 🙂 It’s been fun getting to know you at #azchat!
    There is always so much more to learn about #SoMe. I think it’s funny that ppl are considered ‘experts’ in a field that changes constantly hah But we all keep up the best we can, don’t we? 🙂

    Like

    • I had to think twice about #SoMe ! I don’t think it is going to be worth the time and effort to use all these hashtags I have found out about. Thanks for visitng and commenting. Nothing like chasing a moving target! It’s been a good A to Z. Sue

      Like

Comments are closed.