Y is for Yahweh

This April on Sue’s Trifles the theme is the names of God.  There may be more than one name for some of the letters.  There may be others I have omitted.  I hope that by going through the alphabet together we may learn more about the nature of God who is Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

Letter Y

One of the commandments given to Moses is that “You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God.”  Exodus 20:7  The writers of the Old Testament used an abbreviated for of the name of God, YHWH.  This is known as the Tetragrammatom (four letters)

Yahweh is how YHWH is often spelled in English Bibles.  Jehovah is the same name, coming from an alternative spelling, JHVH.

When I was a child it was still usual to address God in prayer as Thou.  This archaic form of you singular was no longer in general use except in some regional dialects.  While God is addressed as You, it is not really a name.  Some of the wasys it is used tell us about God’s unique nature.  You Alone, O God…

I hope by this stage in the alphabet that you, dear reader, will have some ideas about how to complete that prayer.

(For names in this post beginning with earlier letters, I hope the A to Z contents is up-to-date.)

It is easy to Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Y is for Yahweh

  1. When we started I wondered how you were going to manage to fill every letter. You’ve had a great AtoZ. This is a new word for me. And we’re nearly there.. Thanks for being alongside me this month.

    Like

Comments are closed.