S is for Saviour

This April on Sue’s Trifles the theme is the names of God.  There may be more than one name for some of the letters.  There may be others I have omitted.  I hope that by going through the alphabet together we may learn more about the nature of God who is Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

Letter S

Saviour is a similar name to Redeemer.  The prophets looked for a saviour.  The psalmists prayed that God would save them.  What do people need saving from?  Our sin and the consequences of it.  In St Paul’s first letter to Timothy he wrote about this and praised God for it.  1 Timothy 1:15-17

Sovereign Lord is used in the Old Testament by Abram even before he became Abraham.  Its use continues through the Old Testament history books and Psalms.  Isaiah used it as well.  It suggests complete power.  The meaning is ruler of all.

Servant is a name of Jesus.  Mark’s gospel emphasises that Jesus came to serve.  He is the servant king, showing that true leadership is about service.

Son of Man (Psalm 8) is a name that Jesus used about himself.  Matthew 12:8

Son of God is another name of Jesus.  He is fully man and fully God.  The first person to declare that Jesus is the Son of God, was Peter.  Jesus agreed with him, but told his disciples not to tell anyone. Matthew 16:16-20

In Matthew 16:15 Jesus asked, “Who do you say I am?”

How would you answer?

It is easy to Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

5 thoughts on “S is for Saviour

  1. Visiting from A/Z. What a great theme you have for the challenge! I did a study a few years back on the different names of God and Jesus 🙂

    I say Jesus is the Son of God, Savior of the World, The truth, the way and the light, the only way to the Father 🙂

    betty

    Like

  2. J here, stopping by from the #atozchallenge – where I am part of the A to Z Ambassador Team! (I’m a minion/volunteer under Arlee.)
    Great post. I’m looking forward to more. Let me know if I can help you in any blogging way this month. Congratulations on making it this far! Finish strong. You can do it! I’ve followed you on your listed social media sites.
    -J @JLenniDorner

    I would say to Him that he is the only Son of God, who died for the sins of others, rose, and is seated at the right hand of his Father.

    Like

Comments are closed.