N is for Name above all names

This April on Sue’s Trifles the theme is the names of God.  There may be more than one name for some of the letters.  There may be others I have omitted.  I hope that by going through the alphabet together we may learn more about the nature of God who is Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

Letter N

Name above all names is a name or description of Jesus.  As I mentioned in my post for the Theme Reveal, names and reputations are closely linked.  King Solomon built a temple for the Name of the Lord. 1 Kings 5:3-5

The Apostle Paul wrote in his letter to the Philippians that God gave Jesus “a name above all names.”  Philippians 2:5-11

Nazarene is something Jesus was called.  In Matthew’s gospel it appears that it derived from the name of the town, where Jesus grew up – Nazareth.  Matthew 2:23  It was not a place, of which people thought highly.  John 1:45-46

It is easy to Follow my blog with Bloglovin

9 thoughts on “N is for Name above all names

  1. I was thinking this am about what to blog and the idea of God being always NEAR came to mind. I love your names for God- and there are so many more. Isn’t that amazing and fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In a way “Name above all Names” somewhat follows that tradition of the name of God being unpronounceable or unspeakable. The Name of God is above any other and not even near being equal to any other.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. J here, stopping by from the #atozchallenge
    Great post. Very informative. More information that I did not know before. I’m looking forward to more. Congratulations on making it past the first half.
    @JLenniDorner

    Like

Comments are closed.