I is for Intercessor

This April on Sue’s Trifles the theme is the names of God.  There may be more than one name for some of the letters.  There may be others I have omitted.  I hope that by going through the alphabet together we may learn more about the nature of God who is Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

Letter I

Intercessor is a word meaning one who intercedes for another.  If a child is in trouble at school, for example, a parent may go to speak to the teacher on behalf of the child.  The parent intercedes.  Jesus intercedes with God the Father.  Believers intercede for other people, often adding the words “in the Name of Jesus” or “for the sake of your only son, our Saviour Jesus Christ”, claiming the promise of John 14:13.

Immanuel is a name of Jesus meaning God with us.  It may also be written, “Emmanuel”.

Ichthus is not a name used in prayer to God.  Rather it is an acronym using Greek letters, which translates into English as Jesus, Son of God, Saviour.  It is represented by the symbol of a fish.

All the names or titles represented by Ichthus will appear in their proper places in the alphabet.  J is next – see you tomorrow!

It is easy to Follow my blog with Bloglovin

11 thoughts on “I is for Intercessor

  1. For me Jesus is the only intercessor. I’ve not been convinced that intercessory prayer through saints or Mary is a Biblical concept and I would not do that. I’ve heard the argument that when others pray for you that it is the same as asking a long dead saint to pray for you, but I disagree with that interpretation.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    A Faraway View

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent information!
    I really want to stop back for X (or P, or even L for labarum) to see if cover a Roman symbol that is often forgotten but widely used.

    Very interesting theme. Love it!

    Like

      • I think if you look it up that you’ll find it fascinating. I know I do! It makes quite a connection between the time when Jesus was alive on Earth (however you’d phrase that- I’m referring to the 2,000 some odd years ago), and how the gap was bridged for the illiterate. There were people who did not know how to write their own name, but wanted to be able to write the name of Jesus. It shows a monumental step of devotion, especially for those who could have been killed for learning to write even this one symbol. It’s an iconic turning point in the power of Christianity, but it seems to be forgotten. To remember it, and to celebrate that commitment that those poor, lower-class people (many who were slaves), the “symbol” (or format for how Jesus was written) became incorporated with His birth celebration. In modern times, some people are deeply offended by seeing “X-mas,” and claim that it’s taking Christ out. The truth is so far from that!

        Just seems like the sort of topic you might be interested in. And it covers the letter “X” – which is a tough one for most people. Fun bit of research to look into how letters and names were written back when the Savior was first living among us in Biblical times. There’s a real significance to it.

        Like

  3. Hi Sue – Intercessor is a good word … and that person can be so helpful in guiding someone through some troubles … my mother suddenly came up with the word “Emanuensis” … I’d never heard of it – but it was so true … I was her right hand man – coming from ‘mane’ (hand in Latin) … one of the interesting occurrences my mother suddenly brought out … cheers Hilary

    Like

    • Hilary, I am not picking a quarrel with you over words. I didn’t know how to spell amanuensis either! I associate it mainly with someone who writes for another. Some composers had one, notably Delius. The best known is perhaps St Paul who dictated his letters.
      Hubby helped me out with some of the information in this comment. Sue

      Like

Comments are closed.