Resolutions revisited

I made a New Year’s resolution and managed to keep it!  My post on this blog alerted readers to one on my other blog.

Although the year is not over I have achieved my goal (to read more books).  Since I keep a record of the books I have read with dates, it is easy to compare how many I read last year with this year’s total so far.  In 2013 I read 17 books and gave up on The Poisonwood Bible.  Between October 2013 and February 2014 I have not recorded any books I read.  I wonder whether this is a seasonal effect.  It is a struggle to read books at present, although I am reading blogs, magazines and other printed matter.

In 2014, so far I have read 21 books – fiction, cartoons, memoirs, Christian books, secular books and non-fiction.  Some of them are reviewed on my other blog.

I am also part way through 4 others.  The books I am currently reading are not ones to read at a sitting.  One is about writing poetry in the form of examples in verse, many being humorous.  It is How to be Well-versed in Poetry edited by E. O. Parrott (Penguin 1991).  I bought it second-hand five months ago, dipped into it first and then began at the beginning.

I have reached page 191 out of 257+ (I have read the glossary, which starts on page 259).  This book is old enough to have a blank page on page 258, which does not have any words on it.  “This page has intentionally been left blank” is surely a contradiction in terms!

I am also about halfway through Vanishing Grace by Philip Yancey.  It is subtitled, Whatever happened to the good news?  This is another fashion.  Books have had titles probably from the time they appeared between covers and probably on scrolls too!  But subtitles?  People are so busy now that they are not expected to read the blurb or reviews (or even the genre in the bookshop, whether analogue or digital).

Of the three books I downloaded to my Kindle app a few weeks ago, I have read two and am struggling with the third.  I approached it with some prejudices, which may be hindering me.  In any case it is intended to be read a chapter a day.  Some days I forget!

My fourth book is the one that the Ladies’ Bible study group is using this term.  It is Let’s Study Philippians by Sinclair B Ferguson.  This is also a book to read slowly – two chapters a week is taking us the whole term.

As I read something from the Bible every day, I have not included that in my list for either year.  I consult the dictionary and reference books too.  We had to throw out a Scrabble reference book as we had worn it out!  Fortunately its replacement is more useful, with meanings as well as lists of words.  It is Collins Scrabble Dictionary.

Did you make a New Year’s resolution?  How did it turn out?  For Christians there is an extra New Year’s Day.  The Church’s year begins on Advent Sunday.  This year it is 29 November.   Perhaps we should be considering whether we need to make any resolutions for the next year.

Related post https://suestrifles.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/the-first-day-of-december/

Post Script:  The Daily Post has come up with this prompt almost a month after I published this.

8 thoughts on “Resolutions revisited

  1. Hi sue, i used to read a lot of books but find of late (the last ten years), my reading has slowed down drastically! I used to love reading at least a book a week. But after having said that, like yourself I read my bible each day and for the past five years i have been reading through the entire bible each year following a bible reading plan. Sometimes it has been hard slog, but most of the time I really enjoy it and find my relationship with god more intimate. This year I have been reading books on memoirs, one was by a nurse from the first world war; another was Ann Franks Diary; and the last one I read was I am Malala (the young lady from pakistan who was shot for standing up for her rights and that of other young women and children – a really good book and a recommended read). I like to keep a note of the books i read too, but mine are on Goodreads now.

    Thanx for the post sue, it has inspired me to write again, god bless, x

    Like

      • It was specifically designed for a mixture of readings each day.
        I have read Ann Frank a long time ago. I ought to read the book you recommend.
        I’m glad you feel like writing again. Reading blogs often inspires me or confirms that I am on track. Sue

        Like

      • Hahahaha…..😊😊😊

        Sue I have done a follow up post called Reading Reflections, which has directly come about due to you post. I have mentioned you but I didnt know how to do a link back to your blog, or any one elses for that matter, so sorry, x

        Like

      • No need to apologise, Barbara. It is automatic when you create a link to another blog. However pingbacks have to be approved by the owner of the blog. It can be a good way of increasing the number of people who find your blog. Have a look at my about page and you’ll see your pingback. Sue

        Like

Comments are closed.