The UK Blog Awards 2015

It is time to vote for the blogs entered for the UK Blog Awards.  Last year both my blogs were entered and (surprisingly) short-listed.  I decided not to enter again.  My goals are towards improving my writing and possibly becoming the author of a book or books.

Over the last year I have learned a great deal by taking part in the UK Blog Awards.  I experimented with a static front page for my blog, took part in a Twitter chat (#BlogHour) on several occasions and discovered new blogs and bloggers.

I met some of the bloggers at the Awards ceremony and my confidence was boosted by the whole experience.

I have just had a look at the list of blogs competing for this year’s awards.  Two of the blogs listed have been mentioned on Twitter or my WordPress Reader.  They are both worthy of a vote.  Both were short-listed last year.  Wildlife gadget man actually won!  (Which reminds me that the bird-box on our garage is inhabited overnight by at least one blue-tit.)

It is quick and easy to vote.  The instructions and rules are set out on the linked page of the Blog awards website.    There are lots of blogs to investigate as well.  I think I’ll wait until the shortlists are out and then explore some new (to me) blogs.  The hashtags to use to help promote your favourite blogs are #UKBA15 and #BeBold.

I have voted for my favourite inanimate blogger, Fletch the Perchcrow.  Last year he asked me to represent him at the awards ceremony.  (Actually it was Alex, who asked me.  She has her own blog, where she is describing the progress of her second novel.)  Several of the other bloggers at the awards evening were interested to hear about a scarecrow in a National Trust garden.

Arlee Bird, the founder of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge in April also asked me to be an ambassador for that.  It was useful to have something to bring to conversations with people I had not met before.  I did not want to bore people by just talking my own blogs.  I met some completely new people and found their blogs later.

I had already decided before the evening that I would not enter again.  It was a memorable evening and I am happy to have been involved with the 1st UK Blog Awards.  My best wishes go to all this year’s entrants.  My advice to them is to promote their blogs, make useful contacts and above all, enjoy the experience.

