November notions

I’m sure that one of the reasons I never became a school teacher or considered going on the stage as a career is my dislike of having to repeat myself!  (Of course, there is also the fact that I used to be extremely shy.)

So rather than post about the same things this November as last, I’ll pop up a few links – to both my blogs and see if I can find something light-hearted to write about here.

By the time this post appears, many important dates in November will have come and gone.  Last year I was Blogging every day in November. 

Today is Remembrance Day, although our service for it was the previous Sunday.  After World War I it was known as Armistice Day.

My first year of blogging saw this post, which has already been viewed (via searches) in October on the approach to Guy Fawkes’ Night.

British people have a reputation for talking about the weather.  There are good reasons for this.

It is a safe topic.

There is usually something to say – after all we sometimes experience weather typical of all the seasons in a single day.

I am writing this in advance – on 3 November.  Today the weather forecast was sunshine and heavy showers.  That was correct.  The details have been much more interesting.  There was a beautiful rainbow – or part of one – in the morning.  Then around 2pm there was a brief thunderstorm.

The rain was so heavy that later in the afternoon there was running water on the main street of this village.  The sun set brightly leaving not silver, but rather gold-lined clouds.  The storm clouds were very interesting colours!  There is a big organised bonfire and fireworks event scheduled for this evening.  Although tickets have been sold in advance, the weather will be a factor affecting its success.  (Post script:  The evening was dry.)

Notions (a word I used in the title of this post) usually means ideas.  It also means trimmings (including thread) for needlework and other craft projects.

I’ve no notion where this is leading to.  I find notion rather an old-fashioned word.  However notional is used more.  It is a near synonym for theoretical.  Hypothetical is less likely to be correct than something theoretical.  But scientists begin with a hypothesis.  What if it were true that —?

Then they set out to test whether — is true or false.

November in the Northern hemisphere is the end of autumn (or fall as it is called in North America).  I had to read a comment twice to appreciate the meaning.  A blogger “enjoyed reading about your fall”.  In UK English “about your fall” is usually preceded by “I was sorry to hear about” or “Have you recovered from”.  Perhaps having the word autumn saves us doing all sorts of checks on the context.

I have recorded a poem I published here.

I think of autumn colours, autumn leaves (a beautiful melody) and autumn mists, fruits, fungi and the longer adjective autumnal, where we pronounce the N, which is silent in “autumn”.

Of course, if all Ns were silent in autumn we’d have to do even more checks of context.  With a silent N nous might be ‘ouse, nought would be confused with ought or (even worse) aught and notions would sound like oceans.  ‘Eed I go o’?

 

