Stats for less frequent blogging

Stats for October

Stats for October

As it is now November I have decided to have another look at my blogging stats.  The factors affecting the number of views a blog (or individual posts within it) include the time of year, the weather, holidays, and other random factors.  How a post is publicised and linked to other sites on the interweb is a major factor.

The expression success breeds success is particularly relevant here.  If a link to a recently viewed post appears courtesy of some widget or other on every post in the blog, that linked post is likely to receive more views.

I have posted about my stats previously.  I am aware that the number of followers is not directly related to the number of views.  Unfortunately there are many people who “follow” blogs in the hope of attracting follow-backs.  They may not have any real interest in the content of blogs they follow.

There are also people who “like” posts for similar reasons.  Others “like” posts to show they have visited.  There are no rules.  A recent Daily Post by Ben Huberman suggested bloggers should use “like” in a genuine way.

Since I last analysed my stats I have learned how to take a screen shot, so that will save me a lot of work.  This analysis is from 1 November 2014.  For Sue’s considered trifles I have not been writing new posts in my original style for my work in progress (WIP).  Instead I have been posting links to archive posts, which many of my more recent followers will have missed.  Surprisingly I am still gaining followers and receiving some visits, although not many people click on even one of the links.  I try to write something entertaining and informative to present the links and also invite people to this blog.  The histogram at the top of this post indicates my views in October.  It is true that some of the spikes are a direct result of interacting with others.  Blogs do not attract readers without help!

On this blog I use a “recent posts” widget linked to my other blog.  Both blogs were short-listed for the UK Blog awards 2014 with voting opening in November.  Taking part in that and joining Twitter increased traffic to both blogs.  I also use Facbook to announce new posts and Google+ for Sue’s Trifles.

Enough background!

My previous posts about stats include these

https://suestrifles.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/analysis-of-blog-stats-and-strategy/

https://suestrifles.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/review-of-my-year-of-blogging-on-sues-trifles/

https://suestrifles.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/raindrop-race-results/

Sue’s Trifles started 25 March 2013 had 421 posts and 330 followers (including 2 email followers, one of whom has died – the lovely Tina Downey of Blogging from A to Z in April).   The vertical axis for this graph goes up to 1250 in increments of 250.  Between 25 October 2013 and 2 May 2014 a new post appeared daily.   March included posts on the run-up to Blogging from A to Z in April, including blogging tips, which were popular.  April was a busy month for many of the bloggers, who regularly visit my blog as they were blogging daily and visiting new blogs.  May surprised me, but many A to Zers were on the Road Trip, visiting as many A to Z blogs as possible.  My reduced blogging schedule began to affect my stats in June.

Monthly stats March 2013- October 2014

Monthly stats March 2013- October 2014

Sue’s considered trifles started 23 July 2012 had 250 posts and 407 followers (including 5 email followers, 4 of whom I have met).  The increments on this histogram are 100 going up to 400.

Monthly stats July 2012- October 2014

Monthly stats July 2012- October 2014

For readers unfamiliar with WordPress, the dark blue indicates unique visitors with the total number of views marked by the paler blue.  This was introduced at the beginning of 2013.  Before that historic data only included total views.

