How do you use social media?

How do you use social media?  A similar question was posed recently by Damyanti, who is involved with Blogging from A to Z in April.  It stimulated many comments.

I’d like to tell you how much I enjoy being on Twitter (and that the next post on this blog will be on Saturday as I am reducing my posting frequency.)

I only joined last autumn.  Before that I did not believe that there would be any benefit to me from joining.  However, I decided to join in with Blog Action Day (the next one is 16 October 2014) and it looked as though Twitter was going to be a good place to find out what other bloggers were writing for that.

I do not watch TV, but I find that Twitter gives as good, if not better news coverage.  It also allows Tweeps (Twitter people) to tailor their feed to their own interests by following appropriate people.  Tweetdeck is also a useful tool for watching Twitter chats, people on lists and other streams without having lots of tabs open.

Recently I  interacted on Twitter and found out some interesting information.

A photo was posted of a chalk horse seen from the East Coast railway line.  I have noticed a similar lion from the West Coast line.  So I asked a question.  East Coast railways gave me the information I wanted.  It is the Whipsnade lion on Bison Hill, part of Dunstable Downs in the Chiltern Hills.  It is not a prehistoric monument.

I also use unfollowers.com, which I found through another A to Z Blogger, Andrea.

Apart from finding out who has unfollowed me, I use it to schedule links to my blog posts.  I find this to be more efficient than waiting until a post has published and tweeting live.  (I schedule my posts so that they come out at more or less the same time of day.)

The Twitter chat, which I have taken part in from time to time, is #bloghour.  This is organised by the UK Blog Awards.  Nominations and entries for the next UK Blog Awards (2015) open on 1st September 2014.

I have decided not to take part this time.  I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience last time.  I met some lovely people and was able to talk informally about Blogging from A to Z in April and my short-listed blogging friend, Fletch the Perchcrow.

There was plenty to blog about including the bag I designed on the luma wall.

I took it out one Sunday with my mack in it, but it didn’t rain!  Previously I had only taken it to show friends.  However it is a bag and if I don’t use it, it will just gather dust.

So UK Bloggers have a look at the UK Blog Awards website – as a short-listed entrant I am still having a few visits from that source three months after the awards evening.  Overseas readers were allowed to vote for entrants too!

What do you like best about social media?

Please scroll down to access other posts using the >> or << links.

4 thoughts on “How do you use social media?

  1. I enjoy reading Facebook updates from my kids and seeing the photos and videos they post. Of course I’m sharing this experience with a bunch of other people so it’s not really very personal. But it’s something.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Comments are closed.