A Flower Festival – Part 2

It was a happy coincidence that Mum and I were staying at Burrswood at the start of the flower festival.  Hubby had booked a place on a Jazz Summer School.  He suggested that Mum and I might have a holiday together at the same time.

As Mum had enjoyed previous stays at Burrswood, she suggested that we might go there for a few nights.  This was arranged and we had discovered prior to booking that we would be there to see the flower festival, which was a bonus.

In my previous post I described the number of floral arrangements in the festival.  The events included a preview and official opening on the Thursday, a concert in the church on the Friday and a Vintage Tea Party on Saturday (after we had left).  There was also a Watercolour Workshop on Friday and we saw the participants choosing their subjects and settling down to paint.

Love so amazing

Love so amazing

The prayer walk at Burrswood includes ten points where verses of well-known hymns are displayed.  There were appropriate arrangements at each point, but I did not take photos of every single one.
Love so amazing (from When I survey the wondrous cross) had two arrangements and I have both on digital media (not film these days!)  Mum enjoyed a long marriage to a keen photographer (Dad), so when she asked me, “How many can you take?” she may have meant, “How much longer will you be?”

The larger arrangement included red roses, carnations and love lies bleeding.

Love so amazing

Love so amazing

 

 

 

The Lord’s My Shepherd consisted of many elements.  I did not capture all of them.  Mum sat and waited for me on the bench nearby.

The Lord's my shepherd

The Lord’s my shepherd

 

 

Nothing Else to Fear was the phrase chosen from Through all the changing scenes of life.  Birth, marriage, death and resurrection were depicted.  Details included a stork and bootees, a bugle and daisies.  Pushing up daisies, perhaps.

Nothing more to fear

Nothing more to fear

 

Perfect Peace of God was the title at the point for Like a mighty river flowing.

Perfect peace of God

Perfect peace of God

 

Kindle a flame represented O thou who camest from above.

Kindle a flame

Kindle a flame

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A grateful heart was a particularly unusual display on the lower lawn.  The shape had been interesting all week, but the sunflowers brought colour to it.  Two enormous bees fluttered in the breeze.

A grateful heart

A grateful heart

 

Great is thy faithfulness includes the lines

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
Sun moon and stars in their courses above

 

Great is thy faithfulness

Great is thy faithfulness

The lady working on this told me she still had to add the sun, moon and stars, so the first time I saw it complete, I had a really good look at all the parts.  There was even a butterfly.  I took more photos of this than of any of the others.

 

At another point by the pond, St Francis is remembered and the hymn is Be still for the presence of the Lord.  The phrase chosen was The Power of the Lord.  Again there were many constituent parts to this interpretation.  I did not find a spot where I could see them all.

Be still

Be still for the power of the Lord

 

One of my favourite hymns is What a friend we have in Jesus.  The line providing the inspiration was Take it to the Lord in prayer.  This was an interpretation, which I found particularly effective.  On a framework of bare wood, there was a pair of praying hands in two dimensions.  White lilies were rising up the framework as if they were prayers ascending to the throne of God.  At the base was a small decorative kneeler in white, with beads and a cross of variegated leaves.  I didn’t have an opportunity to catch it on camera.  Do photos make our memories lazy?

The arrangements in the church will have to wait for another day.

2 thoughts on “A Flower Festival – Part 2

Comments are closed.