Earworm

July 10 in the 365 Days of writing prompts is

Earworm

Write whatever you normally write about, and weave in a book quote, film quote, or song lyric that’s been sticking with you this week.

As a member of two choirs I quite often find that I have snatches of songs buzzing round in my head.  About two days after the latest practice seems to be normal for a phrase to become an earworm.  This morning it is Slow Boat to China, which is clamouring the most loudly, although I know the syncopated, “Ching, ching, ching, ching” from Sleigh Ride is what I find most difficult.

Now what do I normally write about?  Books, craft, travel, blogging and Twitter are all regular features of this blog.

For this post what should I include?  I am enjoying going out in the sunshine and not always having to take a mack with me.  Most of my regular activities in the local community are continuing for this week and next.  I have been knitting, reading, writing my journal and playing my piano, which sounds much better since it was tuned last week.  Recently I found a book of treble recorder music in an Oxfam shop, which has inspired me to get one of my recorders out once or twice.  The music is quite challenging – and challenges are one of my weaknesses.

My reading matter includes blogs, a pile of books waiting to be read, my homework for Bible study, the local newspaper, my Twitter feed, the dreaded Facebook and cooking instructions.

I have neglected to read my to-do list for months!  Keeping busy and getting priorities right may not be the same thing.  I still have not finished the scrapbook from a trip over a year ago.  Other piles of paper are reminding me of good intentions not yet fulfilled.

It is time to, “Giddy up” as the sopranos sing in Sleigh Ride and get on with all the things I need to do.

