Delayed flight

My backpack causes more comments from friends and strangers than anything else about my appearance.  Here I am at the airport – with my backpack.

At the airport

At the airport

It isn’t exactly Hermione’s magic bag, but it is well on the way.  You may be aware that former Girl Guides have a lifelong habit of preparedness.  Perhaps we have more belongings with us than average.

In my hand luggage there is no e-reader, no smart phone, no tablet and no laptop.  I am getting too old to cart around all that extra weight!  However, there is a notebook and pen, spare pen, puzzle book and a copy of the New Testament and Psalms.  Unless the same fault is affecting the airport shops as is affecting other people’s electronic devices, I could purchase some light reading matter and snacks to keep me going.  I also have a tongue in my head and an awareness of the people around me.

I am not likely to be champing at the bit waiting for the delay to be over – although it is probably as inconvenient for me as for anybody else.

What can’t be cured must be endured.  We have to make the best of things (or of a bad job).  These expressions belong in my other blog: I must check whether I have included them yet.

Depending on the time of day, I might need to snooze, but otherwise, between people watching, reading, writing, eating, stretching my legs from time to time and talking to my travelling companion(s), if any, it is surprising how quickly the time would pass.

Terminal Time

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

4 thoughts on “Delayed flight

  1. Hi, Sue! Love the backpack! Like you, I take stuff for those just in case moments, most of which I never use, though. I take something to read, and a puzzle book, but usually can’t concentrate long enough. Mostly I people watch, too, and eavesdrop on conversations, and write in my notebook of what I’m seeing and hearing. Also, browse the gift shops!:) Hope you’re having a wonderful trip!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Terminal Time For Days! | TyroCharm

Comments are closed.