Write, you are…

When I was a child borrowing books from the public library, I remember looking round at all the titles on the shelves in the part of the library Mum used.  How anyone could find a title of any description, let alone an original one?

At an early age I was obviously considering that I might add to the wealth of literature in one way or another.  Books were a lasting means of being read as a writer.  My aspirations to write for publication certainly date from childhood.  I had little trouble writing a story for English homework, but the time it took me to think of a title was completely out of proportion.  Mum used to make good suggestions, but I felt honour-bound not to use her ideas.  The concept of “all your own work” was one I took seriously.

Recently I was browsing in a bookshop and noticed a new edition of a book first published in 1994.  It is a compilation of memories from people in the county where I live.  I contributed to two small sections in it by helping collect some memories of older people and editing them for submission to the Women’s Institute for inclusion in the book – Cumbria Within Living Memory.

I am delighted to see that it is available again.  Individuals are not named in the book; there were too many collaborators from villages all over the county.

Whether a book will ever appear with my name as sole author remains to be seen.  If not, I could go down in history as a blogger (with intent)!

Daily prompt:

Futures Past

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

(Thank you, mirakraz and tori23, for inspiring this prompt!)

 

5 thoughts on “Write, you are…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Futures Past, a Bird, Orchids and a few childish dreams – and my dad | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: When I Grow Up I Want to Be Me | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  3. Pingback: The Impossible Dream | lynnesartandsoul

Comments are closed.