A word cloud

I have seen these interesting arrangements of words in various contexts online and printed out. The example in this post is my only attempt at producing one so far. I was inspired to have a go after reading a post by a blogger I met at the UK Blog Awards. The instructions were to enter the address of your blog. I entered mine and this came out. I’d have liked the advertised dove shape, but I hadn’t hours to spend adjusting details. When nothing happened I changed my choices and found something which worked.

Word Cloud

Word Cloud

Blog is used to mean different things in different contexts. Having learned most of what I know about blogging from WordPress, I blog, I have two blogs and I publish posts on them. Other uses of blog seem to encompass the meaning blog post. Evidently, this is what the algorithm producing the artwork did. My latest post was about the UK Blog Awards and the goody bag. The size of the lettering is supposed to reflect the importance of the words (or how frequently they are used). The writing style using “literary variation” is perhaps counterproductive for this purpose and for search engine optimisation.
WordPress uses a similar device for the tag and category clouds. In this case all our posts are analysed. Another website I visit from time to time has similar clouds.
Words and writing feature from time to time in fashion. Apart from T-shirts with writing on, fabric may include script or characters from various alphabets. Greetings cards also have fashions which change. Sometimes a plain background may be favoured. At another time a collage, perhaps including printed matter is in vogue.
Are you fascinated by words, print, script, fashion or clothes with a message? Does it concern you if the design includes an alphabet which you cannot read? Have you tried using a word cloud?

4 thoughts on “A word cloud

  1. Delighted that an idea of mine inspired a blog post from another blogger. Thank you. As you may have noticed from my post, my post was inspired by another blogger. The magic of blogging and the internet! Love your word cloud. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Like

  2. Hi Sue .. I did give it a go once – to see what happened .. and for the life of me now it went over my head .. I was interested, but having done it – now I have a reason to have a re-look … and thanks for the reminder … cheers Hilary

    Like

Comments are closed.