Q is for…

Q is a letter leaving me in a quandary.  It is questionable whether I can have a quartet or a quintet as my musical instruments.  A string quartet is made up of two violins, one viola and one violoncello.  A quintet may also include a piano.  Any group of four or five instruments may be called a quartet or quintet.  The names derive from the Latin for the numbers four, quartus and five, quintus.


A quena may have come to my rescue.  It is a flute from South America.

22 thoughts on “Q is for…

  1. Nice theme. So glad you found a Q, for Quena. I’m sure we would have allowed Quintet and Quartet, though. Together they make for one instrument sound, don’t they?? 🙂 Anyway, I’m off to google the Quena.

    Like

    • You are in good company allowing quartet and quintet – our founder Arlee Bird made the same comment before I approved this one. I have paid a quick visit to your blog about Italy, which looks interesting. No time to comment there today. I have been to Italy once a long time ago. Sue

      Like

    • String music is not what I think of first for Schubert, but I’m a pianist (of sorts). I once went (as a teenager) to a concert to hear string quartets by a more modern composer beginning with B. It was a very interesting to some new music to me. Now what was his name? Sue

      Like

      • Bela Bartok composed a series of I think 6 quartets that are quite renown. They’re not as melodic and traditionally structured as the romantic and classical composers pieces, but they are interesting nonetheless. I always think of them as being closer to rock music than classical though I know it’s a stretch.

        Lee
        Wrote By Rote
        An A to Z Co-host blog

        Like

      • Oddly the classical label gets attached to such a broad spectrum of music. There are so many eras and styles of “serious” music–which is even an inappropriate label. What is the right term for all of the styles? it’s funny that even the radio stations that play music in the more educated realms of music call themselves “classical”. I guess it’s like jazz or rock or whatever–there are so many variations in what has been done that we are tempted to slap on one easy label to describe it all.

        Too bad more people aren’t better educated beyond whatever music is currently popular. Knowing what we’re hearing helps in the enjoyment of the music. And appreciating a wide range of music can be very enlightening.

        Lee
        Wrote By Rote
        An A to Z Co-host blog

        Like

  2. Hi Sue – well you’ve had ‘quarters’ of dialogue here .. and good you’ve learnt a thing or two – there’s a brilliant movie (very British!) about a retirement home – directed by Dustin Hoffman with very typical British actors in the roles … I loved it!! It’s called Quartet …

    Cheers Hilary

    Like

Comments are closed.