O is for…

An organ has a keyboard and pipes or reeds.  In the past bellows were operated by hand to force air through the pipes and produce the notes.  Nowadays electricity provides the power for the pump.  I mentioned an organ on my other blog.
Letter O

An oboe is a wind instrument with a double reed.  This means that the reed on its own can produce a note.  The oboe is used in an orchestra to set the pitch of the note A to which the strings tune.  It has pure overtones.

An ocarina is a small wind instrument.

Orchestra has an interesting anagram – carthorse!

For those of you who enjoyed yesterday’s video offering, here is an original song by the same musician.

 

11 thoughts on “O is for…

  1. Hi Sue – carthorse! I’d never realised that before .. but interesting snippets for the musical O .. and Anne-Marie’s video is lovely .. so pleased you put it here … cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. Found you on the 17th day of the #challenge. Your topic is a great resource for writers looking for information pertaining to a characters musical tastes. Don’t know how you get that ability out there, but this atoz should help. If you have time or interest, writing about gardening and related topics this month. Congrats on your blog.

    Like

  3. Hi Sue! This was the post I was waiting for, since my husband plays the oboe. Thanks for including it! I’ve been liking your A to Z posts so far – looking forward to seeing what you’ve got planned for the rest of the month! 😀

    Like

  4. Hi, Sue! I’ve been enjoying reading about musical instruments starting with the letter of the day! There are so many! I liked you mentioned orchestra, as I played violin in the school orchestra’s in jr. high, and high school. It was a lot of fun. I still have my violin and bring it out once in awhile…not saying the cats appreciate it though! 😉 Great posts!

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting. My memories of attempting to play the violin in the school orchestra are not happy ones. I was a beginner and never progressed. I’d have learned more in the orchestra playing a recorder! I enjoyed playing 2nd (or was it 3rd?) clarinet later, though. Sue

      Like

Comments are closed.