C is for…

A clarinet has a single reed.  It is an instrument which has developed over time and as a result there are various designs and fingerings.   A ‘cello is smaller than a double bass and the player is seated.  It is not an instrument to play in a confined space.

A cornet may contain an ice cream, but it is also a (brass) musical instrument similar to a trumpet.  Cymbals clash, castanets clack, while a clavichord is probably in a museum!  It is a precursor of the modern piano.

My introduction to music at primary school included using various percussion instruments.  I found it difficult to understand that cymbals had to be slid against each other from top to bottom rather than hit together in a sort of head-on collision.

A cajon is a box-like drum, which the player sits on.  The j is pronounced in the Spanish way.

Choirs make music as well – or in some cases, not quite so well! Do you sing in a choir?

24 thoughts on “C is for…

  1. I was an avid Choir singer, and played in the orchestra – those where one of my favorite times growing up, standing on stage. We were lucky to have teachers who where very active in the arts, and that is how we were allowed to perform at major theaters and such. Thanks for taking me back to that time, for this post. Well done, and happy A to Z Challenge!

    Like

    • I was very shy growing up. One of my most memorable experiences was singing in a huge choir drawn from schools all around London with professional soloists and David Willcocks conducting. Sue

      Like

  2. Very much enjoyed this post, Sue. Especially the clarinet description. I’m sure it took a long time to perfect it, make it look but most importantly sound as it does today.

    Like

  3. Still loving this theme! Thanks for the post – I love castanets and other percussion instruments. I used to use zills when I bellydanced…hmmm…perhaps an idea for the letter z? 😀

    Like

  4. I sometimes sing in a choir.

    My pastor has several interesting musical instruments including a cajon. On Christmas in 2012, the pastor, the organist and I played a medley of Christmas carols in front of the audience after the dinner at church. The pastor played the flute, the cajon, and the glockenspiel, while the ‘organist’ played the piano, and I played the alto recorder. It was fun.

    Like

  5. I sang in church choirs for most of my life, but the church we belong to now has a small praise team. So, I sing along with the congregation and sit with my husband who can’t carry a tune in a bucket!
    Blessings,
    Linda

    Like

    • When I was a teenager the church choir was male. I was invited to join an extra mixed choir, which sang occasionally weddings, concerts and special services. I was in other choirs as well. Then I didn’t reallly do much music for years.
      When my children joined the church choir, I began to be involved again. I sometimes enjoy going to a different church, where I can worship without any responsibility for the music! Sue

      Like

  6. All these years later, the word “clarinet” reminds me of a line in some silly song we had to sing in music class in elementary school, about the sounds each instrument makes. “The clarinet, the clarinet, makes doodle-doodle-doodle-det.”

    Like

  7. I love the sound of the clarinet. If I were to learn another instrument now, I’d choose the clarinet. I have sung in choirs in the past, but now I do folk dancing instead. I can’t do everything!

    Like

Comments are closed.