Lingering longer

Daily Prompt: Linger

by Krista on March 17, 2014

Tell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?

The times when I linger are mostly to do with people.  In good company, with comfortable surroundings and interesting conversation, I am happy to stay.

However, later on in the year, when the weather becomes warmer, I might be happy to linger on my own enjoying a view.

In our local community many people enjoy each other’s company, chatting over a hot drink after the morning service or in the interval at a talk or a concert.  Then there is the weekly coffee morning, which is scheduled from 10:30 to 12:00.  One or two people arrive early, but the helpers are already there.  Those who do not need to dash off to their next engagement or appointment may well linger after 12:00.  It is good to see people enjoying themselves.  They do not mind the tables being cleared around them!

One afternoon last week I went for a walk with a friend in bright sunshine.  We lingered at her gate, talking.  It was pleasantly warm and we were not in a rush.  About an hour later it was foggy and cold outside.  No wonder we British talk about the weather.

I’m not going to linger any longer over this post.  I am late enough with it already.

