Surprise pudding

I have written about trifle before.  Its preparation takes a bit of planning.

For today’s prompt I’d like to tell you about my favourite quick pudding.  It is timely as a pudding I made this week was not quite the one I had in mind!

The recipe is versatile as some of the ingredients may be substituted with others.

I was about to make a pineapple-upside-down pudding and cook it in the microwave oven.  All the ingredients were on the kitchen table – eggs whisked, sugar, soft margarine and flour weighed out, the large soufflé dish greased and with honey in it.

Then I opened the can of pineapple and said, “Ugh!”

To my surprise it contained something mushy, not at all like the pineapple rings I expected to see.  I habitually remove labels from cans to recycle them with other waste paper, so I retrieved the label and found that I had opened a can of crushed pineapple!

Hubby had heard my cry of dismay and was prepared to eat the crushed pineapple by instalments, but I told him I could use it anyway.

I drained it through a sieve (as I usually do with slices) and used about half the can in the base of the dish.  We had no guests to impress and pineapple is pineapple, whatever shape it is in.

The cooking time for the pudding varies depending on the power of the microwave oven.  In mine it takes about 6 minutes on full power for a recipe using 2 eggs and 4 ounces of each of the three main ingredients.  Variations of the pudding include pears or peaches instead of pineapple.  The recipe in the book used golden syrup rather than honey.  I use a plate turned upside-down to cover the pudding while it is cooking.  When it has cooled a little and the moisture has evaporated from the plate, I turn the pudding out onto the same plate.

Pudding

Pudding with crushed pineapple topping

Sponge puddings cooked in this way do not brown, but they rise well.

Daily Prompt: Pour Some Sugar on Me

by Krista on March 15, 2014

What is your favorite sweet thing to eat? Bread pudding? Chocolate chip oatmeal cookies? A smooth and creamy piece of cheesecake? Tell us all about the anticipation and delight of eating your favorite dessert. Not into sweets? Tell us all about your weakness for that certain salty snack.

12 thoughts on “Surprise pudding

  1. Pingback: Pour Some Sugar on Me | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  2. Pingback: Pour Some Sugar on Me | Knowledge Addiction

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pour Some Sugar Over Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily prompt: Sweets | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: A LITTLE BIT OF SUGAR | SERENDIPITY

  6. Pingback: Sweet-Cheeks/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pour Some Sugar on Me | MythRider

  8. Pingback: Sweet cravings | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pour Some Sugar on Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Pingback: Pour Some Sugar on Me | 365 Days of Thank You

Comments are closed.