U-turn

For a long time I did not believe that there would be any benefit for me in joining Twitter.  Even after I created a Facebook page for my blogs I could not see how Twitter could be useful to me.

I discussed it with the only person whose Tweets I ever read.  She did not encourage me to join, although she did Tweet something about a possibility I might sign up!

It was when I learned about Blog Action Day, that I decided to join.  I committed to writing a post for Blog Action Day and decided to keep in touch with what was going on using Twitter.

I have not regretted my decision.  I am better informed about all sorts of things than previously and I am finding interesting people to follow and blogs to read through it.

One of my activities is reading and reviewing books.  I responded to one Tweet requesting reviewers and read a delightful book, not yet published.  (My only reward, apart from the enjoyment, might be receiving a free book).

Another book which I was asked to review has been published this week.  I was able to Tweet to the publisher and the authors with links to my review on both my blogs.

Twitter is instantaneous.  At times Facebook is like watching paint dry!

My only problem with Twitter is that I spend too much time reading my feed.  I have written elsewhere about Twitter chats.  There is one each week for the UK Blog Awards – #BlogHour.  The Blogging from A to Z Challenge co-hosts are also running chats at various times to allow bloggers in Time Zones around the world to participate.  Theirs is #AZchat.

I have used Twitter to inform #BlogHour Tweeps about A to Z and to help find my five blogs to follow for April.  This year all of them are on WordPress, to make it easier for me.

My list of blogs to follow is:

http://rosieamber.wordpress.com/

http://thebookdrifter.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/someone-elses-skin-by-sarah-hilary/

http://theartisticchristian.wordpress.com/

http://thisnortherngal.wordpress.com/

http://miriamdrori.com/

This is in addition to any A to Zers I already follow.  This will be my second time blogging from A to Z.  I may well give it a miss next year, but time will tell.  I could do a U-turn over that as well…

365 Days of Writing Prompts

March 14

180 degrees

Tell us about a time you did a 180—changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

4 thoughts on “U-turn

  1. I rarely read my Twitter feed and if I do I’m not on there long. I find Twitter to be somewhat useful, but I don’t follow many of the links I see there. The #AZchat is a wild ride. Interesting, but wild.

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Comments are closed.