To leave or not to leave?

Daily Prompt: If You Leave

by Krista on March 12, 2014

Life is a series of beginnings and endings. We leave one job to start another; we quit cities, countries, or continents for a fresh start; we leave lovers and begin new relationships. What was the last thing you contemplated leaving? What were the pros and cons? Have you made up your mind? What will you choose?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CROSSROADS.

I never intended to join Facebook.  My perception of it was that it was for younger people and that most people shared things, which might be better kept quiet.

I did look at certain “Walls” as they used to be called.  I could take an interest in what my teenage children were doing with their music as they allowed me to know the URL to find them.

Given the choice I’d never have signed up for it.  However, when the opportunity to see family photos was limited to looking on Facebook,  I joined.

When I hear reports of people leaving Facebook in droves, I start to reassess whether I should stay or go.

It would be true to say that I have never liked Facebook.  (I really like Twitter.)  However, I have built up a small network of people I know.  I find out some local information on Facebook, which I might not otherwise see.  My blogs have their own page.  There are photos to look at which I’d miss without it.

What I don’t like is the amount of information that Facebook seems to demand.

I can be quite stubborn and am still refusing to complete much of my profile.  I am sure that Facebook wants the information so that more people are able to connect with me.  It might also alter the priorities of the items appearing in my “news feed”.

If I do a Norton scan of my Facebook page, items are listed which seem to be invisible to me.  Instead I see sponsored results, which do not interest me.  I have managed to turn off notifications of games my friends are playing.

So, I weigh up the pros and cons from time to time and for the time being I remain an active user of Facebook.  (Would you care to like my blogs’ page?)

13 thoughts on “To leave or not to leave?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Just Like Everyday | Views Splash!

  3. I’m right there with you! On Facebook, I keep up with my parents’ travels and a few of my cousins who live out of state. The rest is white noise. I keep up with my true friends face to face. Facebook is for connecting with the people you went to school with and Twitter is for people you wished you had gone to school with. (Completely hacked from a Twitter follower!) I enjoy your humor and candor in your blog. Love the “Award Free Blog” window! So creative. Happy writing!

    Like

    • I looked for an award free blog badge, but didn’t find one, so I used a text widget instead. I’m glad you enjoy my humour. I never know whether I am entitled to use the humour/humor tags or not!
      Any idea what Google+ is for now we’ve sorted out FB an Twitter? Sue

      Like

  4. Pingback: So We Stayed | Random Words

  5. Pingback: If you leave… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Comments are closed.