Never surrender

Daily Prompt: Never Surrender

by Krista on March 11, 2014

Are you stubborn as a grass stain or as easy going as a light breeze on a warm day? Tell us about the ways in which you’re stubborn — which issues make you dig your heels in and refuse to budge?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us STEADFAST

Do the things we learn in childhood become the most deeply embedded?  Certainly some educators believe this to be the case.

One area in which I am quite stubborn is in music.  I try to follow the music to the letter – or should that be to the dot!  I don’t always get it right at the first attempt, but I am aiming for the right notes in the right places, the correct rhythm and something more musical than the notes on the paper.

I am liable to compete with other people who may be aiming for the same result, but approaching it from a different angle.

Maybe I concentrate more on rhythm at first and correct the pitch later in choral singing and others find the pitch first and sort the rhythm out later.  It may not lead to harmony at choir practice!

It is interesting to see that the daily prompt gives stubborn and steadfast.  I’ll add obstinate.

Steadfast sounds positive and perhaps implies determined.  I have heard it said that if we overdo our strengths they become our weaknesses.  Perhaps sometimes we all need to examine our habits and reform if necessary.

17 thoughts on “Never surrender

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Steadfast | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: No surrender on Mental Illness awareness/tolerance | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  3. Pingback: How Do I Get My Son To Go To School | A mom's blog

  4. I come from a kind of stubborn family. I often tend to be stubborn.

    Interesting about the music. When I used to play an instrument I always had a problem with improvisation and jamming with friends. I needed to have music in front of me. I don’t think that was stubbornness but maybe my stubborn nature played in to this.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote
    An A to Z Co-host blog

    Like

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Surrender | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Stubborn or steadfast? No Surrender | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. I am pretty stubborn but prefer to call it perseverance. 🙂

    Missouri and Brittany have the reputation of their people being stubborn. I have grandparents from one and live in the other. I agree with you though, we must not be blindly stubborn. As the saying goes, only donkeys refuse to back up.

    Like

  8. Pingback: The Stubborn Mule and the Easy-Going Duck | Fun with Depression

  9. Pingback: Steadfast #dpchallenge #haiku #photography | Moondustwriter's Blog

  10. Pingback: Beliefs or Ideas? Daily Prompt: Never Surrender | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  11. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Digging In…And Letting Go

  12. Pingback: NOTE TO SELF & DEMONIC WINDBAG IN MY HEAD | hastywords

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Surrender | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  14. Pingback: Why You Should Never Surrender Your Convictions | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

Comments are closed.