Women’s days and craziness

Today is the day chosen to be the Women’s World Day of Prayer.  It is always the first Friday in March, so this is the latest possible date for it.

Tomorrow is International Women’s Day.

Both of these are appearing in my Twitter feed.

I have attended a service for the Women’s World Day of Prayer in the village where I live most years since I was invited.  Each year Christian women from a particular country plan a service which is then adapted slightly to be suitable for use in each country which observes this day.  The countries for the next seven years have already been selected.

Writing about that  links rather better with yesterday’s Daily prompt than today’s as it is a tradition.

Services are held at various time of day and sometimes not on the actual day, but the same readings, prayers and songs/hymns are used.  At the service I attend, we are given our service booklets about a week beforehand, so that we can look through it and be prepared to read at the appropriate time.

Afterwards we have light refreshments and the chance to chat with people we may not have seen for a while.

This post so far is an example of my writing to raise awareness.  Other posts I have written in a similar vein have been for various action days.

Today’s daily prompt is about crazy actions.

Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy

by Krista on March 7, 2014

Sometimes, we act on impulse: it could be something as small as ordering that special dessert on the menu, maybe asking out that cute boy or girl, or as large quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepherd in New Zealand. What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us IMPULSE.

For me blogging could be considered rather crazy.  Many people think of the internet as being a dangerous place.  I dived straight into blogging as a way of writing.  I already had a Facebook account and soon after I had started my second blog, I realised it might be a good idea to have a Facebook page.  Blog Action Day was the motivation for me to start using Twitter.  Facebook is rather like watching paint dry.  Twitter is more interactive and it is possible to keep abreast of world, national and local news all in one place.

Google + is another new venture.  I am not quite sure what I am aiming to do in that environment.  The  #AtoZchallenge is for bloggers on any platform and Twitter, Facebook and Google + are all possiblilites for communication between bloggers.

I completed the Blogging from A to Z in April Challenge last year just over a month after starting my second blog.  It was fairly rash of me to embark on it, but I really enjoyed it and am looking forward to this year’s challenge.  The theme reveal is on 21 March and I have most of my posts in an advanced stage of preparation.

Even crazier than entering the A to Z challenge, was becoming involved with the first UK Blog Awards.  I entered both my blogs – one of them twice.  I encouraged people to vote for them in the public vote, but was very surprised when they were both short-listed in the (individual) education category.  Crazier still, I am going to join all the young hopefuls at the awards evening, part way through the A to Z challenge.  I have a feeling that I’ll be one of the oldest old fogeys there.

My plans are well in hand for the trip.  I have a very good idea what I am going to wear and I can guarantee that my outfit will be unique.  So I am looking forwards to the month of April for two reasons, which many people might consider completely…

…now what’s the word I’m looking for?

(And if you are looking for links to click on, may I recommend my sidebar today.  It will save me time setting up new ones.  Thank you.)

16 thoughts on “Women’s days and craziness

  1. Pingback: Crazy Train? No, Crazy Bike | Cancer Isn't Pink

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Losing Money on an Impulse | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Is it crazy to go against society’s expectations? | A New Life Wandering

  5. I’m still not sure what I’m doing with Google+ Actually I usually kind of ignore that one. I’m still experiment with Twitter and FB. I guess they have their value, but it all seems rather hit or miss.

    I appoint you as our official spokesperson for The A to Z Challenge when you go to the awards event. Spread the word. Maybe you can get some of those “young” bloggers to join in.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote
    An A to Z Co-host blog

    Like

    • Unfortunately the challenge will be almost over. However I might be able to encourage them to join next year. Even better, I can ask a question for the Twitter chat on Tuesday evenings about whether anyone is joining in this time. #BlogHour . Sue

      Like

      • Anytime is a good time to promote the Challenge and plant the seeds for the next one. It would be great if you can ask on the Twitter chat.

        Lee
        Wrote By Rote
        An A to Z Co-host blog

        Like

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impulse | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Dodgy Doges and Fresher Frescoes | litadoolan

  10. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 67] Elevators | Never A Worry

  11. Pingback: How I Got A Book Published “On Impulse” | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  12. Pingback: of impulses | Anawnimiss

  13. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Impulse” – “Embrace Your Impetuousness” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  14. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Capturing Rapture” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Comments are closed.