I upgraded my laptop against all the odds

Daily Prompt: Against All Odds

by Krista on March 4, 2014

Tell us about a situation where you’d hoped against all hope, where the odds were completely stacked against you, yet you triumphed. Be sure to describe your situation in full detail. Tell us all about your triumph in all its glory.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LONGSHOT.

When I read this prompt almost as soon as it appeared on my Twitter feed, I did not know how healthy my laptop was.  I considered all sorts of challenges I had faced at various times in the past and did not feel able to write about any of them.  Then my compute issued me with an ultimatum!

It told me (in no uncertain terms) that it needed to restart to install Windows 8.1.  If I did not click restart now it would do it in fifteen minutes and some seconds, which were counting down before my very eyes!

I clicked on “later”, logged out of all the websites I was using and restarted my computer.

This was the result of something, which I had initiated yesterday and was very apprehensive about.  My computer had been inviting me to upgrade to Windows 8.1 for months.  I knew I needed to do it soon as I need to upgrade my Kindle app and the new one works best with the latest version of Windows.

Where we live the broadband rates are slow.  Yesterday afternoon, I began to install the upgrade.  All the download completed without any problem.  The progress bar, which I tracked down via windows store to the installations page, showed that changes had been made to my computer.  Then everything came to a standstill.   At 72% the green line remained stationary.  I tried to use my computer to check the desktop, the cursor moved, but clicking had no effect at all.  After an hour we decided that nothing was happening and switched my laptop off using the power button.  Hubby used the PC to research problems installing Windows 8.1.  It did not look hopeful!

I went out to choir practice (not the church choir).

This morning after breakfast I switched it on with some trepidation.  It told me it was installing Windows 8.1.  This was not convenient as I was going out to Bible study.  I shut it down and told it to continue shutting down without installing the upgrade.

After lunch I switched it on again.  I went to look at the control panel and checked various screens.  I decided that it would not be a good idea to try to restore it to a point before yesterday as it seemed to be behaving normally.  I updated my virus definitions and ran a quick scan.

I had reached the stage in my surfing, which I described above, when I was told about the restart being required.  The updates took over an hour and a half.  I had to enter a few things and agree to the licence.  I also had to work out how to enter my email address, when the @ sign was replace by quotation marks!  While it was churning away quietly, I read some chapters from a real book, which I have been asked to review.

What amazed me was that the upgrade managed to look after itself and survive two interruptions to the process.  I have to admit that I moaned to a friend after Bible study that my laptop was probably unusable due to a failed attempt to upgrade it and I said a quick prayer as I pressed restart.

I am thankful that the mains power remained uninterrupted while I was doing this, not only to provide internet access, but also as I have removed the battery from my laptop and use it plugged in to the mains.  When I consider all the things, which could have gone wrong – including operator error – I think this is an appropriate daily prompt today.

