Always something there to remind me

Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me

by Krista on March 2, 2014

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us PAST.

I had to wait so long for an audition to sing in the junior school choir, that my muscles had tightened and I could only squeak!  I could continue to enjoy hymn-singing practice, morning assembly and “Singing together” from the BBC, as well as Sunday School.

However, no audition was required at my next school and I joined the choir and later the madrigal group.

As a result of my musical activities, begun in childhood and revived alongside my own children, I have encountered a very large number of songs, many of which have special associations for me.

Some of the most poignant are songs or hymns, which friends of mine have chosen for their own funerals.  These were mostly people who died well before their three score years and ten.  As time goes by (another song title with no associations for me) the memory of a particular occasion may fade, but just occasionally I remember a person I associate with a particular hymn or chorus.

The songs on the radio, which take me back are pop songs from a particular year in the 1960’s.  I associate them with a visit to my grandparents.  I think we must have had a transistor radio with us.  Santa had brought tiny ones that year.

They include the House of the Rising Sun and Flowers in the Rain, which reminds me of Raindrops keep falling on my head – is that the same vintage?

I really haven’t time to research any of these today, due to the singing engagements of the church choir!

