Murphy’s Law

February 27

Comedy of errors Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” Write about a time everything did — fiction encouraged here, too!

I have great difficulty following instructions, especially if they are given as pictures, rather than words.

Even instructions in words may cause me problems.

The instructions in 365 days of writing prompts led me to consider why things go wrong, rather than a particular instance, whether true, exaggerated or partly made up.

I find that things go wrong for a number of reasons.

  1. Lack of preparation
  2. Trying to work too quickly
  3. Carelessness
  4. Distractions
  5. Events outside our control

Have I missed anything?  If so this piece of writing is an example of something which has gone wrong.

Just to show a little respect to the author of the prompt, I’ll mention a few things, which went wrong this morning and see whether they fit into my categories.  I have had a very enjoyable and satisfying time helping at a coffee morning.

  1. Before I went out I mislaid a ballpoint pen. I had inadvertently covered it with the lid of the box I keep my cartridge pen in.  (Category 3 above.)
  2. I did not find a box containing some of the items for the Bring and Buy stall.  (Categories 2 and 3 above)
  3. Someone put the greetings cards I had bought back with the rest of the stock.  I had left them on top of my bag rather than inside it.  (Categories 1, 2 and 3 and 5?)
  4. The baking I had done was not as popular as last time.  (Category 5)
  5. A donor to the Bring and Buy stall kept dropping her donation on the floor.  (Category 2)
  6. The smell of stale coffee in the bin was awful.  I kept closing the bin, but, every time I needed to use it, it was open.  (Category 5)

Nothing serious went wrong.  I found my pen quite quickly.  The Bring and Buy table may have looked more attractive without too much clutter.  I remembered to check that I had everything and found the cards I had chosen.  Someone was persuaded to take some of my baking home.  The donor and I had an amusing conversation about the effects of gravity and whether it had become stronger recently.  I did not make a fuss about the bin and no-one else seemed to be bothered by it.

Far more things went right.  The sun was shining.  A good number of people came to help.  A large number of people came to meet with others.  Everyone seemed pleased with the way they had spent the morning.  An old friend working abroad came to renew friendships.  People were able to encourage one another or just chat about their memories and plans.  There were bright and cheerful daffodils on the tables (OK, I am allergic to them – that’s probably why my sense of smell was working overtime.)  There were fliers on the tables about a book due to be published soon by a local author.  Much to be thankful for!

One thought on “Murphy’s Law

  1. Pingback: Murphy’s law again | Sue's Trifles

Comments are closed.