Twelfth birthday

On my twelfth birthday I had a party after school.  I had invited the group of girls I was friendly with.  They went home with me after school.  I paid all the fares on the bus.  We chatted on the journey.  Mum let us in and we all went to the bedroom I shared with my sister to change into our party clothes.

One of my friends had brought cotton-wool to put in her ears as she did not like pop-music.  I can’t remember whether we played party games.  I think not – we weren’t little children anymore!

My sister must have invited a friend as well, although I cannot remember which one.

It was my worst birthday party ever.  I saw some of these girls in their true light!  One of them went through my belongings without permission.

The friend with the cotton-wool in her ears was the only true friend.  We are still friends nearly half a century later in spite of living hundreds of miles apart.

I stopped playing with most of the other girls in the group soon after my party.  It was nearly the end of the school year and we started the new academic year with different sets for our lessons, so there was plenty of regrouping going on in any case.

The fathers of my friends collected them from my party.  They would not have been allowed to travel home by public transport in the evening even on a light summer’s evening.

I don’t think I had any more birthday parties after that apart from one I shared a few years ago with a new (younger) friend who celebrates her birthday on mine!

Written in 10 minutes for the daily prompt.  Editing out the typing errors and tidying up took a little longer!

Daily Prompt: Shake it Up

by Krista on February 24, 2014

You’re 12 years old. It’s your birthday. Write for ten minutes on that memory. GO. Photographers, artists, poets: show us RECKLESS.

