New sensation

Daily Prompt: New Sensation

by Krista on February 20, 2014

Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FAD.

When I was a teenager fashion was very exciting.  My family did not have a large budget for clothes, but we made the most of what we had.

My wardrobe was designed to give me lots of different looks by mixing and matching my miniskirts and tops.  I had a lime green skirt and a shocking pink one.  My French navy jumper went with either.  My memory of the other ways I mixed and matched to make a large number of different looks with a few basic items fails me.  I wore jewellery from Woolworths.  I had a shocking pink and black necklace, dangly clip-on earrings in white imitation pearl and a green pair, none of which I have kept.  However I do have a more discreet pair of earrings from later on.

Earrings

Earrings

Clip-on earrings showing clip

Clip-on earrings showing clip

Dresses also featured.  At the height of flower power I had a dress which had mauve and purple, orange and yellow and possibly other colours as well.  When we had an evening activity at school and uniform was not required, one of the girls commented that I liked bright colours.  With hair as dark as mine was, most colours suited me.

The dangly earrings, which I found attractive, were indeed a new sensation clipped onto my ears!

14 thoughts on “New sensation

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: New Sensation | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: New Sensation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: BELL BOTTOMS AND FRINGES | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: Middle School Day Trend | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  5. Pingback: The Only Thing That Looks Good On Me is You | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: Glory Days | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  7. Pingback: Fashion wins the race | A mom's blog

  8. Pingback: Colors #01 | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X

  9. Pingback: A FUN FAD! | Words 'n Pics...

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: New Sensation | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  11. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Footloose, Fancy-Free…Fashionable?

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: New Sensation | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Comments are closed.