Proud

February 15 Proud

When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?

I think the last time someone told me they were proud of me, they were being sarcastic!

On reflection, hubby may sometimes tell me that he is proud of me.  “I’m impressed!” is what he said about my sight-reading on the piano the other day.

I don’t like the word proud.  Like everyone else I find that it is good to be appreciated.  But isn’t pride one of the so-called deadly sins?  In UK English at least, proud is the adjective from pride.  I know US English includes the extra word prideful.

I have already touched on this subject with regard to the badge for the short-listed entrants in the UK Blog Awards.

We are expected by the values of the society in which we live to be proud.  Proud of our children’s achievements.  Proud of what we have made or written or painted or composed.  Even proud of our possessions.

I suppose it is all a matter of degree.  As long as we give God the glory, we can be thankful for our children’s achievements.  We may have been instrumental in helping them do well, but ultimately their abilities, their health and strength are gifts from God.

Psalm 90:17 is a prayer to God asking for his blessing on us and on what we do or make. (The work of our hands.)

365 Days of Writing Prompts

